Playing the last note on the Ocarina

According to this lovely blog, I started Ocarina of Time sometime soon after July 24, 2012 (when I finished A Link to the Past).  Last week, after recuperating from The Tangled Challenge, I finally swung my last sword blow to the beast.  Here’s how it went down:

Me: (after beating Ganondorf in Ganon’s Castle and barely refraining from throwing the remote in the air) I did it!  I beat Ocarina of Time!

Hubby: No, you didn’t.

Me: Yes I did!  I killed Ganondorf!

Hubby: It’s not over.  Follow Zelda.

Me: (deflated) Oh no…

Now, I love Hubby with all of my heart, but sometimes he can be a bit too helpful.  Once I made it out of the castle and was faced with Ganon (I’m still confused as to what the difference is between Ganondorf and Ganon), he insisted that I use the Biggoron’s sword (which I insist on calling the Big Gorram Sword) to kill him.  Okay, can do!  I kept whacking at Ganon until Zelda told me to come get the Master Sword.  “No, sweetie, keep using the Biggoron’s sword, it’s more powerful,” Hubby insisted.  “But Zelda wants me to retrieve the Master Sword,” I reply between sword swings.  After several long minutes of watching me play and not really getting anywhere, Hubby googles the game, and admits that I was right and I do need to use the Master Sword to finish of Ganon for good.  I win, and collapse with sore fingers from clutching the sweaty controller.

With Ocarina finally under my belt, I put up an informal Facebook poll to determine if I should venture into Twilight Princess or Skyward Sword next.  The results were unanimously Twilight Princess.  However, Skyward Sword involves a floating island, like my NaNoWriMo novel, so I decided to go against public opinion and try it out first.  I’ve just got to the first temple, and I have to say that I am definitely enjoying it so far!  I’m definitely finding the controls easier since I am more familiar with the Wii than classic Nintendo.

This all being said, I’ve also been having with my chain mail.  I created a Triforce pendant as a prototype.  This will end up on my Etsy site NerdlyGoodness soon, but I want to try it again with smaller rings.  This version looks pretty sweet lying down, but it loses its shape a bit when worn as a necklace. 

2 thoughts on “Playing the last note on the Ocarina

  1. Ha ha, thank you for posting and I enjoyed reading about the dynamic between you and your partner. I have similar issues with my partner when she watches me play games or vice versa. We often make mistakes by not listening to each other, or by listening too much and not following our gut instinct on what to do. Still, I find it a really rewarding way to experience games. When I showed my partner Ocarina of Time a year ago, it was her first time playing a Zelda game and because of that it almost felt like I was experiencing the game for the first time too. When it’s a classic like Ocarina of Time that’s really something to relish.

    I think Ocarina’s an amazing game, and probably the best paced Zelda game in my opinion. Not too short and not too long, it throws you into the action and feels like an epic adventure the whole way through without getting bogged down at any stage. I haven’t played Skyward Sword but I found Twilight Princess a bit of a let down, mostly because it holds your hand for a very long time at the start. Anyway I hope you have a good time with Skyward Sword and whatever lies beyond!

    • Thanks! I’m glad you liked this post. I’m really enjoying Skyward Sword, mostly because I’m more familiar with the Wii remote. I’m still getting used to jabbing at enemies with my “sword” though–this game is a real workout! And definitely use the remote’s wriststrap; I’ve had the remote go flying out of my hand due to vigorous enemy slaying attempts! Skyward Sword is my first attempt at playing a game without the guide next to me, so we’ll see how well that goes. It’s rather nerve-wracking because I’m the type of person that wants to collect all of the items, etc, so I’ve already been looking things up online to make sure I don’t miss anything 😛
      I know what you mean about watching someone else play a game, and feeling like you’re experiencing it for the first time. I feel that way when Hubby plays the Lego games that (for once) I’ve mastered before him, and I have to bite my tongue to not give unwanted suggestions or hints.

Leave a Reply

