A Tangled Challenge

tangled2

Now that I’ve been at home for almost two months looking for new fun museum jobs (and volunteering at happy museums too!), I’ve started to go a little stir crazy.  Yes, I’m still writing my NaNoWriYearISwearIWillFinishIt novel, and working on some new exciting Etsy projects (more on that in an upcoming post), but I’m looking for a bit more to do.  

After going to see Frozen (amazing, btw!), Hubby and I have been blasting Disney music throughout the apartment.  As “When Will My Life Begin?” from Tangled came on, Hubby turned to me and pondered, “I wonder if you could actually do all of the things Rapunzel does in a day?  It would certainly keep you busy!”  Interesting concept.  Let’s take a look at everything Rapunzel accomplishes in a day:

“When Will My Life Begin?”

7 AM, the usual morning lineup:
Start on the chores and sweep ’til the floor’s all clean
Polish and wax, do laundry, and mop and shine up
Sweep again, and by then it’s like 7:15.

And so I’ll read a book
Or maybe two or three
I’ll add a few new paintings to my gallery
I’ll play guitar and knit
And cook and basically
Just wonder when will my life begin?

Then after lunch it’s puzzles and darts and baking
Paper mache, a bit of ballet and chess
Pottery and ventriloquy, candle making
Then I’ll stretch, maybe sketch, take a climb,
Sew a dress!

And I’ll reread the books
If I have time to spare
I’ll paint the walls some more,
I’m sure there’s room somewhere.
And then I’ll brush and brush,
and brush and brush my hair
Stuck in the same place I’ve always been.

And I’ll keep wonderin’ and wonderin’
And wonderin’ and wonderin’
When will my life begin?

And tomorrow night,
Lights will appear
Just like they do on my birthday each year.
What is it like
Out there where they glow?
Now that I’m older,
Mother might just
Let me go …

Whew!  That is a lot of stuff!  But you know what?  Why not!  I’ll have to reorganize a few things (downstairs neighbors probably won’t like the laundry going at 7am), and maybe substitute in a couple of things too, but this sounds like fun!  Ironically, tomorrow is my birthday, but as it’s already in the afternoon today, I’ll have to save my Rapunzel day for later this week.  Okay, I’m getting pumped for this.  I’ll post pictures and updates afterwards!
 
Challenge accepted!
2 thoughts on “A Tangled Challenge

  1. Emily says:

    I’d be happy to get all those things done in a month, let alone one day!

  2. […] did it!  I completed my Tangled Challenge!  I ended up changing a few of the tasks to ones I could actually accomplish (sorry, I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

