Torchwood (or, the moment I realized I shared the stage with the real Captain Jack Harkness)

I’ve been continuing my quest to become as geeky as possible (I have a ways to go, but I’m enjoying my journey), and as such I’m finally watching Doctor Who and Torchwood. As I have never seen either one, I’m watching them chronologically with each other (i.e. stopping after “Blink” to watch season 1 of Torchwood, then picking up with “Utopia”, and so forth). I’m quite enjoying it so far. I’m up to Season 4 of Doctor Who, and David Tennant is my current favorite doctor. Still waiting to find my favorite companion. Rose is good, I wasn’t a big fan of Martha. I know future companions are other people’s favorites, so we’ll see! I’ve managed to stay rather spoiler-free of future events, aside from knowing when the Doctor regenerates.

minor spoilers ahead…

Back to Torchwood. I definitely enjoy the more adult concepts, and it’s a much darker show. As I wrap up Season 1, I am excited to see how the characters will develop, and if there’s more interaction with the Doctor Who characters. I had a super-OMG moment when I was watching the second to last episode of the season, “Captain Jack Harkness.” In the episode, we meet the real Captain Jack Harkness. As the character came on the screen, I knew I recognized him, but my little brain just couldn’t place him. When I looked it up, I gasped to see that it was Matt Rippy of The Reduced Shakespeare Company. Now, I adore the RSC, and make it a point to go to any of their shows whenever they’re in town. Basically, they take serious topics, like Shakespeare, American History or Sports, and condense them into a play full of hilarity as performed by three guys. Check them out at www.reducedshakespeare.com My favorite show of theirs is their first show, The Complete Works of Shakespeare (abridged). It’s all 47 of Shakespeare’s plays in 97 minutes, including the sonnets as well (actually, Act II is primarily Hamlet). We performed it in high school (with more than the required 3 actors), and I was hooked ever since. I’ve seen them perform in London, DC (several times), Virginia and Washington. During the Hamlet portion of the show, they break the Ophelia character down into her id, ego and superego using audience participation, which all culminates with one female audience member being pulled on stage to stand in a pool of red light and scream. This had been my dream to do for years (I’m a dork, I know), and in 2010 it finally came true. Hubby and I drove from DC down to Reston, Virginia to see the RSC perform, and I knew we had front row seats, so I was keeping my fingers crossed. I saw the actors eying me throughout the show, and I was ecstatic when one of them pulled me onstage to be Ophelia. Who pulled me onstage, you ask? None other than Matt Rippy. He was awesome (gorgeous blue eyes!) and kept asking me quietly if I was comfortable. I gave him a thumbs up and when my time came, I gave my scream my all. You could hear a pin drop in the theatre. Best. Night. Ever. It made the holiday letter that year. And now it has more meaning now that I know that he is the real Captain Jack Harkness. Swoon.

Leave a Reply

