Gearing up for NaNoWriMo!

This is the first year I’ll be participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). It’s been over five months since I wrote my thesis, so I hope my brain has recovered enough for the challenge. I first heard about NaNoWriMo earlier this year via author Marissa Meyer, who used it to work on her first novel Cinder.

My untitled novel will be a YA fantasy story. Here’s the initial elevator pitch:
On the floating island of Upari, there is magic in the…hair. Follicular mages are caught up in the Upari-wide civil war headed by the priests and the scholars who are trying to determine the origins of their island, and if the legend of a land below is true. One woman, gifted with different types of magic, discovers only she can end the war.

I have the most basic of outlines, mostly in my head. I know parts of the middle and the end of the story. Is writing about writing an acceptable form of outline procrastination?

Writing starts November 1!

Leave a Reply

